Support Migration Notice: To update migrated JIRA cases click here to open a new case use www.vmware.com/go/sr | vFabric Hyperic 5.7.0 is Now Available

Hyperic HQ

Plugin Manager - certain plugins should never be allowed to be deleted

Details

  • Case Links:
    none
  • Regression:
    No
  • Story Points:
    3
  • Tags:

Description

Certain plugins like the system plugin should never be allowed to be delete from HQ via the plugin manager. It can be updated (potentially), but never deleted.

Need to implement this.

Activity

Hide
Kashyap Parikh added a comment -

This is a good one, I know agent won't start without system plugin. Allowing updates for such plugins also puts us as risk if someone uploads corrupt system plugin. Should we just make these plugin R/O in UI view (i.e. no check box appears against this list of plugins).

Show
Kashyap Parikh added a comment - This is a good one, I know agent won't start without system plugin. Allowing updates for such plugins also puts us as risk if someone uploads corrupt system plugin. Should we just make these plugin R/O in UI view (i.e. no check box appears against this list of plugins).
Hide
Scott Feldstein added a comment -

Good question. I can think of lots of ways to do this, but they all have tradeoffs. Lets talk about this as a group.

Show
Scott Feldstein added a comment - Good question. I can think of lots of ways to do this, but they all have tradeoffs. Lets talk about this as a group.
Hide
Jason Konicki added a comment -

I hope this ticket is addressed in 4.6. It could really cause some problems. Not every customer will understand what the effect of removing this plugin will have. Can we up the priority to Critical/Blocker?

Show
Jason Konicki added a comment - I hope this ticket is addressed in 4.6. It could really cause some problems. Not every customer will understand what the effect of removing this plugin will have. Can we up the priority to Critical/Blocker?
Hide
Ryan Morgan added a comment -

I'm with Jason on this one, this should be fixed for 4.6. An accidental click (or just someone being curious) will result in the entire inventory being deleted.

Show
Ryan Morgan added a comment - I'm with Jason on this one, this should be fixed for 4.6. An accidental click (or just someone being curious) will result in the entire inventory being deleted.
Hide
Wes Schlichter added a comment -

+1.

3 clicks in the UI will result in devastation for the customer. Not only would a DB restore be required but manually restoring the system plugin on all (possibly hundreds/thousands) of agents will be unacceptable.

Show
Wes Schlichter added a comment - +1. 3 clicks in the UI will result in devastation for the customer. Not only would a DB restore be required but manually restoring the system plugin on all (possibly hundreds/thousands) of agents will be unacceptable.
Hide
Annie Chen added a comment -

Had a discussion with Scott this morning. Scott plans to make all plugins that has "SYSTEM" resource type as undeleteable. The ui will pick up this attribute and disabled the check boxes for all those plugins. (maybe we should put a note under the table to explain why some checkboxes are disabled.)

p.s. The plugins that shouldn't be deleted suggested by Ryan are: system, netdevice, netservices, and hqagent.

Show
Annie Chen added a comment - Had a discussion with Scott this morning. Scott plans to make all plugins that has "SYSTEM" resource type as undeleteable. The ui will pick up this attribute and disabled the check boxes for all those plugins. (maybe we should put a note under the table to explain why some checkboxes are disabled.) p.s. The plugins that shouldn't be deleted suggested by Ryan are: system, netdevice, netservices, and hqagent.

People

Vote (0)
Watch (4)

Dates

  • Created:
    Updated:
    Resolved:
    Last comment:
    2 years, 48 weeks, 1 day ago